top of page

CHURCH Management

Governing Document

 The Church is administered in accordance with the terms of the Deed of Constitution (Unitary Form).




Recruitment and Appointment of Trustees

Members of the Kirk Session are the charity trustees.  The Kirk Session members are the elders of the church and are chosen from those members of the church who are considered to have the appropriate gifts and skills. The minister, who is a member of the Kirk Session, is elected by the congregation and inducted by Presbytery.


Organisational Structure

The Kirk Session , which meets five or six times a year , and is chaired by the minister , has oversight of the whole life and service of the Church within its Parish and responsibility for the spiritual and temporal oversight of the Congregation's affairs.  The Kirk Session delegates some aspects of its work to four committees, namely: the Liaison Committee, the Pastoral Care Committee, the Property and Finance Committee, and the Worship Committee.  Membership of each committee consists of elders and co-opted members of the congregation who have skills and interests relating to the committee that they join.

These co-opted members are called associates and are invited to join Kirk Session meetings.  Associates have no voting rights at Kirk Session meetings but are free to contribute to the discussion of business.


Objectives and Activities

The Church of Scotland is Trinitarian in doctrine, Reformed in tradition and Presbyterian in polity.  It exists to glorify God and to work for the advancement of Christ’s Kingdom throughout the world. As a national Church, it acknowledges a distinctive call and duty to bring the ordinances of religion to the people in every parish of Scotland through a territorial ministry. It co-operates with other Churches in various ecumenical bodies in Scotland and beyond.

bottom of page